The Teachers and preachers in our Disciplic Succession

For a list of our spiritual masters,  please click here

Our disciplic succession also known as Guru parampara, began with Lord Krishna Himself, Millions of years ago.

The North East Lincolnshire Hare Krishna Society is a branch of the Gaudiya Vedanta Samiti which draws its legitimacy from its place in a long succession of spiritual teachers and disciples (parampara). There are four major disciplic successions (sampradayas). The Gaudiya Vedanta Samiti belongs to the Brahma Sampradaya, founded by Lord Krishna Himself.  We are devotees of the IPBYS “The International Pure Bhakti Yoga Society” which is a branch of the Gaudiya Vedanta Samiti, which was created by Srila Bhaktivedanta Narayana Maharaja. Our Grimsby branch is an authorized branch of the IPBYS under the guidance of Srila Bhaktivedanta Narayana Maharaja.


There are many branches to this sampradaya. Our society belongs to the branch founded by Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu in the 16th century.

The principle is that Vaisnava teachings should be passed on, unchanged, from guru to disciple. The most prominent devotees in this lineage are accepted as acaryas: those who teach by example, who carry the line forward. Listed below are the acaryas since, and including, Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. The most recent and prominent spiritual masters on planet Earth in our line, have been Srila Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada and Srila Bhaktivedanta Narayana Maharaja.


We understand that God is ONE and that He has many Names like Krishna, Allah, Buddha ( Krishnas incarnation) , Christ, Jehova,Govinda and so on. These different names of The Lord depict a certain quality of Him,

“The name Krishna means ‘all-attractive.’ God attracts everyone; that is the definition of ‘God.’ We have seen many pictures of Krishna, and we see that He attracts the cows, calves, birds, beasts, trees, plants, and even the water in Vrindavana. He is attractive to the cowherd boys, to the gopis, to Nanda Maharaja, to the Pandavas, and to all human society. Therefore if any particular name can be given to God, that name is ‘Krishna.'” From The Science of Self-Realization


Etymology of the word ‘Krishna:

“The word ‘krish’ is the attractive feature of the Lord’s existence, and ‘na’ means spiritual pleasure. When the verb ‘krish’ is added to the affix ‘na’ it becomes Krishna, which indicates the Absolute Truth.” From Mahabharata (Udyoga-parva, 71.4) [cited: Sri Chaitanya-charitamrita Madhya-lila 9.30]


The etymology of the name ‘Krishna’:

If we analyze the nirukti, or semantic derivation, of the word ‘Krishna,’ we find that na signifies that He stops the repetition of birth and death, and krish means sattartha, or ‘existence.’ (Krishna is the whole of existence.) Also, krish means ‘attraction,’ and na means ananda, or ‘bliss.’

Srimad-Bhagavatam 10.8.15


The name ‘Krishna,’ meaning ‘all-attractive,’ can be applied only to God:

Srila Prabhupada: … Krishna means ‘all-attractive.’


Bob: Oh, I see.

Srila Prabhupada: Yes. God has no name, but by His qualities we give Him names. If a man is very beautiful, we call him ‘beautiful.’ If a man is very intelligent, we call him ‘wise.’ So the name is given according to the quality. Because God is all-attractive, the name Krishna can be applied only to Him. Krishna means ‘all-attractive.’ It includes everything. From Perfect Questions, Perfect Answers

Other names of God

Allah, means  “the Beneficent, the Merciful”   Elohim means “strong one”  Krishna means “The All Attractive One” Bhagavan means “He Himself, complete in all respects”  Yahweh, means “self existing or worshipable” Govinda means “He pervades all the worlds, giving them power” and Govinda also means “master of the senses”

A different name does not make a different God. God is one and He has all the qualitys mentioned above in full, not just one quality only.  If He has only one quality,  then He could not be God, He would be incomplete. God has all good qualities we can think of and in full.  If we say He is limited to one name only,  to one quality only then we are limiting Him, but He is unlimited, so we should not look at the unlimited from our own limited perspective.

Disciplic Succession – Our Guru Parampara   Click here for evidence from The Bhagavad Gita

Lord Sri Krishna

Lord Brahma

Sri Narada Muni

Srila Vyasa

Sri Madhva















Madhavendra Puri

Isvara Puri

Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu

The Six Goswamis of Vrindavana

Srila Rupa Goswami

Ragunatha dasa Goswami

Jiva Goswami

Sri Krsnadas Kaviraja Gosvami

Sri Narotama, Srinivas, Syamananda

Sri Vishvanatha Cakravati Thakur

Sri Baladeva Vidyabhusana

Sri Jagannatha das Babaji

Bhaktivinoda Thakura

Srila Gaurakisora Dasa Babaji Maharaja

Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura Prabhupada

Srila Bhakti Prajnana Kesava Gosvami

Srila A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Srila Bhaktivedanta Narayana Gosvami Maharaja


Modern day prominent sannjassis and preachers

Find out more detail about the personalities mentioned below here There are many more devotees who are busy propagating this cult of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu, to many to mention on a 1000 websites. All glories and millions of dandavats to them.

We are a bonafide and genuine long succession of spiritual teachers and disciples (parampara). There are four major disciplic successions (sampradayas), we belong to the Brahma Sampradaya,originating with Lord Krishna Himself.

We have many branches and our society was founded by Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu, Lord krishna Himself in the 16th century.

As far as we can look back in time, our  teachings have been  passed on, unchanged, from Spiritual Master or guru to his faithful disciple. The successful disciple became also spiritual masters and the most prominent devotees in this lineage are accepted as acaryas: Those who teach by personal example and who carry the disciplic succession forward. Listed below are the acaryas and spiritual masters since lord Krishna of which Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu is considered to be an incarnation of Lord Krishna Himself, He is also known as The Golden Avatar.

BV = Bhaktivedanta

Sripad BV Ashrama Maharaja

Sripad BV Avadhuta Maharaja

Sripad BV Bhagavat Maharaja

Sripad BV Damodara Maharaja

Sripad BV Dandi Maharaja

Sripad BV Madhava Maharaja

Sripad BV Muni Maharaja

Sripad BV Nemi Maharaja

Sripad BV Niskincana Maharaja

Sripad BV Padmanabha Maharaja

Sripad BV Sadhu Maharaja

Sripad BV Sagar Maharaja

Sripad BV Sajjana Maharaja

Sripad BV Srauti Maharaja

Sripad BV Sridhara Maharaja

Sripad BV Suddhadvaiti Maharaja

Sripad BV Tridandi Maharaja

Sripad BV Vana Maharaja

Sripad BV Vaikhanas Maharaja

Sripad BV Vaisnava Maharaja

Sripad BV VishnuDaivata Maharaja

Sripad BV Vishnu Maharaja

Srimati Uma didi

Srimati Syamarani devi dasi

Sriman Mahabuddhi dasa

Sriman Ramachandra dasa

Sriman Jagan Mohan dasa

Sriman Mukunda dasa

Sriman Kishorimohan dasa & Srimati Sudevi didi

Srimati Radha Kanti dasi

Top of Page